What is the State Electorate of Denison?


The electorate of Denison includes the Local Government areas of the City of Hobart, the City of Glenorchy and part of the Municipality of Kingborough. Its suburbs cover from Austins Ferry to Bonnet Hill and Longley in the south, and extends west out to Collinsvale. Suburbs include Claremont, Chigwell, Collinsvale, Berriedale, Rosetta, Montrose, Goodwood, Moonah, Derwent Park, Lutana, New Town, Lenah Valley, Mount Stuart, North Hobart, West Hobart, Battery Point, Dynnyrne, Mount Nelson, Sandy Bay, Taroona, Tolmans Hill, Ridgeway, South Hobart, Fern Tree and Neika.

The major centres of employment sectors for Denison include government and public administration, health care, construction and trades, manufacturing and retail, as well as tourism and hospitality, with the MONA (Museum of Old and New Art) at Berriedale, the Cadbury chocolate factory at Claremont and Salamanca Market in Salamanca Place near Hobart’s waterfront.   Other important sectors include education, training and science with the University of Tasmania’s main campus at Sandy Bay, the Institute of Marine and Antarctic Studies (IMAS) on Hobart’s waterfront, and the Medical Precinct and Menzies Institute for Medical Research in the city’s CBD.

People living in Denison do so because it is easily to move around, has a wonderful lifestyle including easy access to work, walking, cycling, mountain walking, sporting facilities and entertainment precincts.  This region has outstanding natural, cultural, social and economic qualities.

Denison was named after Sir William Denison who was Lieutenant Governor of Van Diemen’s Land (as Tasmania was then known) from 1847 until 1855. The electorate is 289 square kilometer in area and is located in southern Tasmania, snuggled under the magnificent Mount Wellington and bordered by the River Derwent.

Autech Software